Blackstar – David Bowie

A 10 minute dirge is how I would initially describe David’s new single. Pop it aint! He has explicitly said he isn’t a pop star and doesn’t want to be seen as such; I think that’s great and this song solidifies that.

Jazz elements sit alongside Drum & Bass (A little throwback to Little Wonder? …) and there is a strong religious feel throughout. Commenting certainly, but what the actual message is I can’t say right now. Bowie is veiled with bandages through most of the piece, except when he stands like a character from a CCCP poster, statuesque, blessing the fields with the blackstar book.

I love it. I have mentioned before how much I like ‘him’, but I don’t always like his music. This really resonates with me though.

Anyway – watch and enjoy 🙂

Some more examples of David Jones’ genius –

Live on the greatest show on TV 🙂

One thought on “Blackstar – David Bowie

Leave a Reply

